Thoughts?

I mentioned in a previous post that I am a writer. For now, my only published pieces are fanfiction; if you are interested in reading them they can be found at fanfiction.net under my user name of T-man626. I also have several beginnings of original pieces, which I hope to one day sell to the literary magazines. Most of these pieces fall in the categories of science fiction and/or fantasy, as those are my favorite genres.

I’m looking for input on one piece in particular. As I grew up reading science fiction, I wondered: Where are the people like me? Why aren’t there any characters who were labeled one gender by society but identify as something else? Now admittedly, the majority of the sci-fi I grew up on is from the 50s, 60s, and 70s, with some more modern stuff thrown in. There are the occasional characters that could be labeled as transgender, but they are background characters, and the way that they are viewed by the other characters varies from pity to outright intolerance. As much as I admire the man, I am still heartbroken every time I read Heinlein’s description of transsexuals as “poor monsters”. (Yes, I know that there are stories that portray the characters in a better light, but I still feel like they fall short.) Again, I started thinking. What are the classic sci-fi scenarios? Colonizing another planet or first contact with aliens. Okay, not sure yet if I can do anything with the latter, but what about the former? Why wouldn’t or couldn’t there be a transgender colonist? From there, the idea grew. Who says what people get to colonize the new planets? How do they go about selecting these individuals? All of this evolved into the Selection Committee, responsible for handpicking the “professional” colonists who assist with the start up of each new colony. In the latest batch of candidates is a transman. Where I’m getting stuck is what the discussion surrounding this candidate would entail. 

So the question I pose to you is this: What are points in favor of this man being part of the colony? What are points against? I want to hear what you think. Please leave a comment with points for and/or against. I appreciate any and all input.

Leave a Reply

