Staying Positive

Where did the last two months go? I could’ve sworn I just posted about my New Year’s resolutions only a few days ago….

To say that the last couple of months have been busy would be a gross understatement. They’ve also been rough, for a variety of reasons. But I’m trying to stay positive, so today I wrote a list of all of the “ups” from the last eight weeks.

I’m making slow progress on the job hunt. I’ve got an interview on Thursday for a potential promotion at work. My aunt and I spent a couple of hours on day re-writing and polishing my resume. I’m registered for a teacher job fair at the end of this month.

I’ve spent a fair amount of time with friends and family, including celebrating my dad’s birthday. One of my best friends will be moving closer to where I live in a couple of months, so we’ll be able to see one another more frequently.

I’ve gotten to indulge my passion for live theatre on several occasions, including seeing the national touring company of “WICKED” and a local production of Sondheim’s “Company”. I also had the great fortune to see Billy Joel in concert.

While I haven’t been keeping up with posts here, I completed one fanfiction piece that I began over a year ago. I also have posted the first three chapters of a new story: a Warehouse 13/Firefly crossover. If you think that it sounds interesting, go ahead and check it out at https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10038861/1/No-Good-Deed.

I’ve been studying for my next work-related certification, which, if I pass the test, will mean a raise. I’ve still managed to find time to read over a dozen novels, and enjoyed all of them.

I’ve started planning a trip to visit my Yia-yia (Greek for ‘grandmother’). It’s been almost three years since I last saw her, so I’m excited. I’m also looking forward to returning to Athens; in many ways, I feel like I grew up there just as much as I did here in the US.

It may have been a rough couple of months, but this list lets me see that it hasn’t been all bad. Hopefully, it only gets longer.

Leave a Reply

