Stop the presses!

Originally, I planned out six blog posts for while I was here in Athens, each centered around an aspect of the trip. However, life doesn’t always go as planned, and so here is a seventh post to announce a big change in my life:

I have secured a teaching job for the 2014-15 school year! In rural Alaska!

I first interviewed with a representative of this district when I attended the annual teacher job fair in March. We had a good conversation, and he told me that I would likely hear from someone in four to six weeks. As I half-expected, I got an e-mail from the district’s head of personnel the day that I arrived in Greece, wondering if I would be available for a phone or Skype interview. Score one for modern technology: Despite the eleven-hour time difference and the fact that this district is in southwestern Alaska, in the course of two days I had two Skype interviews, one each with the head of personnel and with the principal of the building where I will be working. Less than forty-eight hours after the second interview, I received a formal job offer via e-mail.

On the one hand, I am super excited about this. I’ve been looking to get back into education, and the age of the students I will be working with (a mixed 3rd/4th grade classroom) is right in my ideal range. It is also nice to know that I don’t have to put up with people at my current job for too much longer.

On the other hand, I’m nervous, and a little bit scared. It’s been almost two years since I last set foot in a classroom, so I’m worried about finding my “teaching legs” again. Most of my nerves, though, stem from the fact that I, a twenty-something transman, will be moving to an almost middle-of-nowhere village in rural Alaska. Unfortunately, I need to plan on living stealth until I know more about my fellow educators and the villagers, which is not going to be fun. Hopefully, though, that won’t have to last for too long.

Look on the bright side: My blog entries are about to become a lot more interesting!

2 comments
  1. ravinj said:

    I have applied for an attorney position on rural Alaska. Googling “transgender in rural Alaska” or somethin along those lines is how I found your blog.

Leave a Reply

