Five Years Ago

Five years ago, I was just beginning to like who I am.

Five years ago, I was in my senior year of undergrad.

Five years ago, I was applying to grad school for education.

Five years ago, I was making good headway in breaking out of the introverted shell I occupied through most of high school and my freshman year of college.

Five years ago, I was the same height that I am now.

Five years ago, I weighed about 140-150 pounds. More of it was fat, and it was distributed in such a way that my body had a more feminine shape.

Five years ago, I wore binders and baggy clothes to hide that shape.

Five years ago, my voice was higher pitched.

Five years ago, I was perpetually smooth-shaven, and even more baby-faced than I am now.

Five years ago, I was finally taking steps to legally become Cee Jay.

Five years ago today, I got my first shot of testosterone.

Today, I use transdermal testosterone on a daily basis.

Today, I am legally Cee Jay.

Today, I sport a closely cropped beard. It makes me look a little older. Not much, but a little.

Today, my voice is significantly deeper.

Today, I no longer need to wear binders.

Today, I wear slimmer-cut clothes, because I am proud of my new physique.

Today, I weigh in at just shy of 135 pounds, more muscle than fat.

Today, I have numerous friends scattered around the country and even in other countries.

Today, I am a classroom teacher.

Today, I like the person that I am.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

