Advice from… Myself

I noticed the letter as soon as I opened my post office box today. It had a district office return address, and it was addressed to me at “General Delivery”. That struck me as odd; the district hasn’t sent things “General Delivery” since I got my Post Office box back in August. A closer look revealed that I had addressed it. It took a moment, but then I remembered: One of the last things I did at my first-year teacher in-service was one of those letters to your future self.

At the time, I had two thoughts about the activity. I’ll admit, my first thought was that it was kind of cheesy. My other thought was that, even in a letter to myself, I needed to be careful about what I said. After all, I wrote this letter sitting at a cafeteria table surrounded by other people whom I’d only met a couple of days before.

Anyway, I opened the letter. As I read it, I couldn’t help but smile. The biggest piece of advice? “…you can be yourself. Maybe not 100% right now, but who knows what the next 2 years will bring?” And you know what? I was right. I’m out to several colleagues who have been nothing but supportive. I’m calm in a way I wasn’t when I first arrived. And the thought of one more year is no longer nearly as intimidating as it once was. It’s a good thing I listened to me!

Leave a Reply

